Skip content

NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Health & Safety.

Accredited by NEBOSH


The National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety Unit first week is the core module of several NEBOSH Certificates as it provides essential training in areas such as risk assessment and health and safety auditing practices.

It has been designed to not only give you a well-rounded knowledge of health and safety, but to also provide a foundation platform for continuing into more NEBOSH units and specialised training areas. The National General Certificate unit provides essential elements that cover health and safety in the workplace.

In addition to the NG1 unit, each NEBOSH Certificate contains its own set of approved learning books that will develop knowledge for health and safety management. NEBOSH Certificates are nationally recognised qualifications that will assist you and your organisation by lowering the risk of hazards and hazard management.

This Unit is part of the NEBOSH National Certificate in Occupational Health & Safety General Certificate course, it aims to develop your knowledge and understanding further in all aspects of hazard management and control. The Unit focuses on key areas such as general workplace safety-work equipment, working at heights, plant, facilities, physiologicalstress, mental first aid, noise, vibration, biological, electrical and fire hazards etc.

The aim of this unit is to assist you in identifying signs of developing hazards in the workplace. The NG2 Practical work-based risk assessment assignment exam is required to be sub mitted within 2 weeks of the NG1 exam date, for formal marking by NEBOSH. It is part of the overall NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Health & Safety and therefore provides all knowledge and understanding of health and safety management.

All NEBOSH Certificates are accepted by the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health as meeting the academic requirements for Technician membership of IOSH (Tech IOSH) and is accredited to Level 3 within the National Qualification Framework.
The International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM) also accept NEBOSH Certificates as meeting the requirements for associate membership.

You will learn...

  • Element 1 – Foundations in Health and Safety
  • Element 2 – Health and Safety Policy
  • Element 3 – Organising for Health and Safety
  • Element 3– Promoting a Positive Health and Safety Culture
  • Element 4 – Risk Assessment
  •  Element 4 - Principles of Control
  • Element 5 – Monitoring, Review and Audit
  •  Element 5 – Incident & Accident Investigation, Recording & Reporting


  • Element 1 – Movement of People and Vehicles-workplace hazards
  • Element 2 – Transport Hazards
  •  Element 3 – Manual and Mechanical Handling
  • Element 4 – Work Equipment
  •  Element 5 – Electricity
  • Element 6 – Fire
  • Element 7 – Chemical and Biological Hazards
  •  Element 8 – Physical and Psychological Health Hazard

Training from LRQA

With LRQA, you can access a wide range of courses to help you further your career and bring improvements to the management systems in your organisation. With many learning styles to choose from, our training courses can help you develop and reach your next level.  Find out more about our Training Courses from LRQA.

Course length

NEBOSH General Certificate is a 10 day classroom based course, plus revision and open book exams within a few weeks of the course followed by an interview with a trainer regarding your open book examination.

The NG2 Practical work-based risk assessment project exam is required to be submitted within 2 weeks of the NG1 exam date, for formal marking.


If you are looking for a course for four or more people, you may find our in-house option more cost-effective. Contact the team for a quote.