Skip content

Demonstrate technical competency of permitted waste sites.

CompetencE Management System (CMS)

+44 121 817 4000

Contact us


The Competence Management System (CMS) Standard is a management system-based Standard developed by EU Skills which is approved by Defra, SEPA, the EA, the Welsh Government and Natural Resources Wales as a method of demonstrating technical competence of permitted waste sites. It can be used by any company, from any industry, that is required to demonstrate technical competence for their environmental permit as required by the Environmental Permitting Regulations 2007.

What is CMS certification?

The Environmental Permitting Regulations 2007 (amended 2010) came into force in 2008 and allowed for approved systems to be used to demonstrate technical competence for permitted sites. CMS is relevant to any organisation, in any sector, that deals with waste management activities and needs an environmental permit for its waste operations in England and Wales.

Competencey Management Systems enable operators to demonstrate technically competent management of permitted activities by creating and maintaining a CMS that is independently certified as meeting the requirements of the standard.

It will ensure that all individuals whose work contributes to the conditions of an environmental permit are competent to carry out the work of their role.

Being management system-based, a CMS assessment can be done standalone or as part of ISO 14001 surveillance activities. So if you already have ISO 14001, talk to us about how we can incorporate your CMS assessment into your existing surveillance visits. Alternatively enquire about the certification process for Competence Management Systems CMS.

What are the benefits of CMS?

Integrates with existing systems

Can be used standalone but, being a management system itself, can integrate with your existing management systems (environment, occupational health & safety, quality, business continuity, etc.).

Provides choice

CMS was developed in response to the waste management industry’s request for an alternative to the existing Certificate of Technical Competence (COTC) system, WAMITAB scheme.

DEFRA, EA, WAG, SEPA and Natural Resources Wales approved

Officially approved by Defra, the EA, SEPA, Natural Resources Wales and the Welsh Assembly Government as a method of demonstrating technically competent management.

Effective and productive

CMS organises employees more effectively and productively by deploying them in a way that ensures site operation is always technically competent.

Complements training 

CMS can take into account vocational and academic qualifications, internal and external training, based on National Occupational Standards (NOS) where applicable. 

More holistic methodology 

CMS can take competence up a level, moving from purely individual competence to a more holistic corporate competency approach embedding competency throughout the permitted operations.

Legal compliance 

CMS satisfies the competence requirements contained within an environmental permit.

Why choose LRQA?

  • LRQA has been at the forefront of standards development and involved in environmental assessment and training for more than 20 years.
  • LRQA was the first certification body that gained accreditation from UKAS for CMS. 
  • Our Business Assurance approach means our assessors always try to add value and to use objectivity to ensure you are managing competency effectively within your organisation.
  • CMS is management system-based, so LRQA knowledge in this area which we have accrued since 1985 makes us the natural choice.