We’ve detected that you are using an outdated browser. This will prevent you from accessing certain features. Update browser

LRQA to achieve UKAS accreditation for CMS

Following assessment by the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS), LRQA has become the first certification body in the UK to be awarded with accreditation to deliver accredited certification for the Competence Management System Standard (CMS).

CMS is a management systems-based standard developed by Energy & Utility Skills and approved by Defra, the EA, the Welsh Government and Natural Resources Wales as a method for organisations from any industry to demonstrate technical competence of their permitted waste sites.

CMS enables operators to demonstrate that they have the technical competence to manage all permitted activities, satisfy regulatory requirements and comply with the environmental permit for waste activities. The standard also ensures that all individuals whose work contributes to the conditions of an environmental permit are competent to carry out the work of their role.

Judith Turner, Environment & Energy Technical Manager at LRQA, commented, “We are delighted to have achieved UKAS accreditation for CMS. It demonstrates the sector-specific expertise of LRQA and gives our clients, and those that regulate them, confidence that their CMS management system will meet the requirements of the standard.”

Third-party management systems certification shows conformance to a standard and can drive continual improvement for an organisation. Accredited certification gives an additional level of confidence and trust, demonstrating the expertise, recognition and credibility of your certification body such as LRQA.

Get in touch with our team

Hit enter or the arrow to search Hit enter to search

Search icon

Are you looking for?