Food Safety standards and schemes

LRQA has worked extensively across the food sector for over two decades, assisting with the development, formalisation and improvement of food safety standards.

Our food safety experts serve as active members of the world's leading food safety technical committees, including the ISO 22000 Technical Committee, the European Accreditation Board's Food Committee, the Foundation for Food Safety Certification, and the Global Food Safety Initiative's (GFSI) Technical Committee.

Standards we certify

View all standards

Acoura – Food and drink supply chain specialists

As part of the Lloyd's Register group, Acoura is the UK's fastest growing provider of risk services for the food and drink supply chain. Operating in 40 countries across six continents, every year we conduct over 35,000 audits and inspections in addition to delivering a range of tailored services aimed at protecting our customers’ brands.

Farm Assurance Certification

Farm Assurance Certification (LR RA00) is an online farm assurance self-assessment certificate that provides a very visible level of assurance within the complex supply chains found in the food industry. It forms part of a complete remote assurance framework developed by LRQA and powered by greenfence, which will enable supply chain owners and stakeholders to select the level of assurance required and suppliers will be able to achieve assurance online.

FSSC 22000

FSSC 22000 is a complete certification scheme for food safety management systems. It was initially based on ISO 22000, the global food safety management system standard, ISO 22003 and ISO/TS 22002-1 (formerly PAS 220), a standard developed to address prerequisite program requirements for food product and ingredient manufacturers. The scope of FSSC has now been extended to include prerequisite program requirements for food safety in packaging through PAS 223.


Our HACCP services deliver against the embedded HACCP principles developed by Codex Alimentarius of the World Health Organisation to ensure your legal compliance and an effective food safety system.

ISO 22000

Food Safety is vital throughout the supply chain – from farm to fork. ISO 22000 Food Safety management system certification helps keep food safe.

SMETA 4-pillars responsible sourcing

SMETA 4-pillars was developed by AIM (Association des Industries Marque) in order to meet the changing needs of consumer goods organisations. Placing a greater emphasis on environmental issues and business integrity, SMETA 4-pillars goes beyond the requirements of a standard SMETA audit.